Clean-up and maintenance

From Frog Knowledge Base
Jump to: navigation, search

From time to time, you may wish to perform certain maintenance tasks on your Frog platform to ensure it keeps running as smoothly as possible. The summer holidays are a great time for you to check that everything is working correctly on your Frog server, as well as giving your platform a general tidy up.

To help you do this we’ve put together this quick guide for you to use:


MIS Integration


Check that data is importing

Whilst some items populated through MIS Integration will not be available over the summer break (timetables for example), it is worth checking that the extract from your MIS and the import to your Frog server are running correctly.

To check that the extract is working correctly:

· Log in to the Frog toolkit

· Select the Admin tab from the left hand menu

· Select the Server Configuration option

· Select the MIS tab

· Under the MIS Import section, the Last Import to Server date should be today’s or yesterday’s date (these dates may differ depending on your MIS extract and import schedules).

If you are concerned that your MIS extract is not working correctly, please verify that the MIS server running the extractor can communicate with the Frog server and that its logs don’t show any instances of the extractor failing.

If you are a SIMS user, it is also worth opening the Configuration utility (found in Start / All Programs / Frog / SIMS Extractor / Configuration) and running a test followed by a manual import from the same folder of the Start menu. Please note that if you are upgrading the version of the SIMS application that is installed on the machine that the extractor sits on, the application must be run first to complete patching before the extractor will function correctly.

To check that the import is working correctly:

· Log in to the Frog toolkit

· Select the Admin tab from the left hand menu

· Select the Server Configuration option

· Select the MIS tab

· Under the MIS Import section, the Successful Import date should be today’s date (note: these dates may differ depending on the schedule you have set up).

If you are concerned that the Import stage of MIS Integration is not functioning, please contact the Frog Technical Support Team


Historic groups and user accounts


For safety reasons the Frog MIS Integration process will never delete data from the Frog server.

As a result of the above, historic user accounts and groups will not be removed when they are unlinked from the MIS. Removing these accounts on a regular basis is advised - once or twice a year should suffice for user accounts. You may wish to remove groups more regularly as these can cause confusion in other areas of the platform.

NB: It is important to check carefully that no accounts or groups are deleted that need to be retained as these cannot be restored.

To remove user accounts that are no longer MIS-linked:

· Log into the Frog toolkit

· Select the Admin tab from the left hand menu

· Select the Users option

· If the search dialog is not presented, click the Search button from the header menu

· Enable the Show option for any fields you wish to see, making sure to include the MIS field

· Click OK

· When results are returned sort them by the MIS column by clicking on the MIS column header. A star in this column indicates that the item is linked to the MIS and cannot be deleted.

NB: This sort is carried out by your PC, if you have selected a large number of users the sort may take some time

· Once the results have been sorted, select the first non-MIS-linked entry by single clicking it in the list

· Scroll down and check that there are no required accounts listed in the non-MIS-linked accounts section of the list

· Once you have checked that no accounts in the list are needed, select the final non-MIS-linked account by holding down the shift key on your keyboard, this will highlight all accounts between the account selected above and this account

· You can now delete all these accounts in bulk by hitting delete on your keyboard or by clicking the Delete option on the header menu. Depending on the amount, this too can take a short time to process.


To remove groups that are no longer MIS-linked:

· Log into the Frog toolkit

· Select the Admin tab from the left hand menu

· Select the Users option

· If the search dialog is presented, click the cancel button

· Select the Groups option from the A-Z located below the header menu

· A list of all groups on the Frog server will now be returned

· Sort the list of groups by the MIS column. A star in this column indicates that the item is linked to the MIS and cannot be deleted.

NB: This sort is carried out by your PC, if your platform has a large number of groups this may take some time.

· Using the same method as with users select all the non-MIS-linked groups you wish to delete, again checking carefully that no groups that should be retained are selected.

· Delete the groups in bulk by hitting delete or by selecting the Delete button from the header menu.


Checking server backups


Ensuring that you are maintaining an up to date and complete backup is an important check to make on a regular basis. The current Frog backup system provides a network share containing the data that is required to restore the server. It is your responsibility to ensure that this data is copied from the Frog server to a secure location and included in your backup routine.

Double check that your scheduled task is running as expected to pull data from the Frog server.

For further assistance with backups please contact the Frog Technical Support Team


Removing historic e-portfolios


When a user is deleted from Frog, their e-portfolio is not removed. In some cases it may be required that this data is retained for an amount of time before it is removed. If this is the case, you will need to consider how long the data is required before carrying out the clean-up process.

Eportfolios can be located within the Frog server’s file structure by logging into the toolkit and clicking the All Files button. At the top of the file list you will find a series of blue coloured folders, one for each login profile. Within these folders are the e-portfolios for each user in that login profile.

Folders for users that still have accounts on Frog will be blue, folders for historic user accounts that have now been removed will be yellow.

To remove the old folders:

· Log into the Frog toolkit

· Select the Documents tab from the left menu

· Select the All Files option

· Browse into the folder for a given login profile

· Highlight all the yellow folders you wish to remove

· Click the Delete button from header menu.

Any selected folders will now be removed and placed in the recycle bin.


Emptying the recycle bin


The Frog server’s recycle bin will contain any pages, notes, folder, files etc. that have been deleted by users on Frog. It doesn’t contain user accounts, groups or emails. The recycle bin should be emptied regularly to reclaim used space on the Frog server. This should be well advertised and users should be given adequate time to restore any files they need from the recycle bin before the bin is emptied.

To empty the recycle bin:

· Log in to the toolkit

· Select the Documents tab from the left hand menu

· Select the Recycle Bin option

· Click the Empty Recycle Bin button from the header menu.

The Recycle Bin will now be emptied.


A note on passwords

Our guidelines for creating a secure password in Frog are:

- Use a mixture of upper case and lower case letters

- Use a mixture of numbers and letters

- Do not use a password of less than 4 characters or more than 16 characters in length

- Do no use special characters (punctuation or exclamation marks) or spaces in passwords.